Trade Customers click here

We are experiencing technical problems, sorry about that. We are working on them!

Known problems are:

  • Online ordering system
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Broadcasting Legend Arthur Black To Tour Canada


October 29, 2004

Need to tickle your funny bone? Humourist, media personality and award-winning author Arthur Black is taking his book Black and White and Read All Over on the road, from Vancouver Island, around BC and through the prairies, and all the way to Toronto. In Black & White and Read All Over, Black shows once again why he has won two Stephen Leacock Medals for Humour. He shares some little-known facts, both about himself—his teenaged nickname, how he just missed having breakfast with Jack Nicholson, the guilty secret that makes him sit jackknife upright in bed at three o’clock in the morning—and about the world we live in: why the beaver is Canada’s secret weapon, asteroid NT7 and what this might mean for the earth, and how much dung a herd of wildebeests deposits on the plains of the Serengeti each day (four-thousand tonnes!).

Black’s irrepressible sense of humour, his unapologetic descriptions of the foibles of humanity and his delight in the bizarre shine through in this entertaining compilation that will keep you laughing until you’ll want to read it all over—again.

Arthur will be doing the following events:

--Reading at Bolen Books in Victoria on Monday, November 8 at 7pm
--Reading at Courtenay & District Museum, hosted by Laughing Oyster Bookshop, on Tuesday, November 9 at 7pm
--Reading at Volume One Books in Duncan on Wednesday, November 10 at 7:30pm
--Reading at McNally Robinson Saskatoon on Tuesday, November 16 at 7pm
--Reading at McNally Robinson Calgary on Wednesday, November 17—reception at 7pm, reading at 7:30pm
--Reading at Audrey’s Books in Edmonton on Thursday, November 18 at 7:30pm
--Reading at the Different Drummer Reading Series at La Salle Park Pavilion on Tuesday, November 30 at 9am
--Reading at Collected Works in Toronto on Wednesday, December 1 at 7:30pm
--Reading at McNally Robinson Portage Place in Winnipeg on Thursday, December 2 at 7pm

You can listen to interviews and read reviews on the following days:

--Live interview with CBC Radio Saskatchewan on Tuesday, November 16 at 4:40pm
--Review in Nexus, Camosun College’s student newspaper, on Wednesday, November 3
--Review in Monday Magazine in November
--Interview appearing in the Burnaby Now on Wednesday, October 13
--Interview appearing in the Royal City Record on Saturday, October 9
--Live interview with CBC Radio One Almanac on Monday, October 4 at 12:40pm
--Live interview with CKNW Stirling Faux on Sunday, October 3 from 6pm to 6:40pm
--Article and event listing in The Now newspaper in Surrey, BC on Saturday, October 2
--Event listing on CBC-TV Canada Now on Friday, October 1 at 6:30pm
--Interview with the Victoria Times-Colonist
--Interview with CBC Radio Victoria On the Island
--On-air review on CiTR Radio in October
--Review in the Martlet, the University of Victoria’s student newspaper