Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Jean Barman shortlisted for City of Vancouver Book Award!

Posted: September 28, 2006

Stanley Park’s Secret: The Forgotten Families of Whoi Whoi, Kanaka Ranch and Brockton Point by Jean Barman has been shortlisted for the City of Vancouver Book Award.

The 17th annual City of Vancouver Book Award is presented to authors of titles in any genre that have displayed excellence and contributed to the appreciation and understanding of Vancouver’s history, distinctive personality and the achievements of its citizens.

Stanley Park’s Secret details the often forgotten past of Vancouver’s most popular tourist destination.  Working in collaboration with descendants of the families who once lived in the park area, historian Jean Barman skillfully weaves together the families’ stories with archival documents, Vancouver Parks Board records and court proceedings to reveal a troubling, yet deeply important, facet of BC’s history.

Jean Barman is the author of six previous books, including the BC bestseller The Remarkable Adventures of Portuguese Joe Silvey. Stanley Park’s Secret was also shortlisted for the 2006 George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in BC Writing and Publishing and the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize earlier this year. Barman’s long-time, impassioned pursuit to understand and uncover the history of British Columbia has earned her a position as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, among other honours. She lives in Vancouver, BC.

Other authors shortlisted for the City of Vancouver award include: James P. Delgado for Waterfront: The Illustrated Maritime History of Greater Vancouver (Stanton Atkins & Dosil); Derek Hayes for Historical Atlas of Vancouver and the Lower Fraser Valley (Douglas & McIntyre); and Abraham J. Rogatnick, Ian M. Thom, and Adele Weder for B.C. Binning (Douglas & McIntyre).

The winner of the award will be announced on October 17, 2006. The winning author will be presented the award by Mayor Sullivan, along with a $2000 dollar cash prize.