Trade Customers click here

We are experiencing technical problems, sorry about that. We are working on them!

Known problems are:

  • Online ordering system
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Two BC Publishers Celebrate This Year's Acorn-Plantos Award Shortlist


Monday, November 3, 2008

Howard White, publisher of Harbour Publishing and Silas White, publisher of Nightwood Editions, congratulate two of their authors on making the 2008 Acorn-Plantos Award shortlist. Last Water Song by award-winning poet Patrick Lane (Harbour Publishing, $16.95) is the first collection of new poetry from Lane since 2004. Prosey, relaxed and personal, these are some of the most moving poems Lane has written. Sharon McCartney, author of the collection The Love Song of Laura Ingalls Wilder (Nightwood Editions, $16.95), weaves innovation with humour to convey down-to-earth insight in this focused and riveting read.

Patrick Lane, considered by most writers and critics to be one of Canada's finest poets, was born in 1939 in Nelson, BC. Lane has produced twenty-four books of poetry to date. He is the father of five children and grandfather of five. He has won nearly every literary prize in Canada, from the Governor General's Award to the Canadian Authors Association Award to the Dorothy Livesay Prize. His poetry and fiction have been widely anthologized and have been translated into many languages. Lane now makes his home in Victoria, BC, with his companion, the poet Lorna Crozier.

Sharon McCartney is the author of two previous poetry collections, Under the Abdominal Wall (Anvil) and Karenin Sings the Blues (Goose Lane), and the chapbook Switchgrass Stills (littlefishcartpress). Her work has been published in numerous magazines and journals including PRISM international, Event, Grain, sub-TERRAIN, Prairie Fire, Iowa City and the Malahat Review. McCartney has an MFA in poetry from the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop and a law degree from the University of Victoria. She works as a legal editor in Fredericton, New Brunswick, and is poetry editor for The Fiddlehead.

The Acorn-Plantos Award for Peoples Poetry is awarded annually to a Canadian poet, based on a book published in the previous calendar year. The work should follow in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, Plantos and Others by being accessible to all people in its use of language and image. The award consists of a cheque for $500.00 CDN and a medallion.
Other books shortlisted for the Acorn-Plantos Award are: Gary Geddes for Falsework (Goose Lane Editions), Nadine McInnes for Two Hemispheres (Brick Books), and Susan Stenson for My Mother Agrees With the Dead (Wolsak and Wynn). The winner of the Acorn-Plantos Award for Peoples Poetry will be announced on November 24, 2008.