Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Sharon McCartney Wins Prestigious Poetry Award


Monday, November 24, 2008

Nightwood Editions is thrilled to announce that the Acorn-Plantos Award Committee has selected Sharon McCartney, author of The Love Song of Laura Ingalls Wilder, as this year’s winner of the Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry. McCartney will receive a generous cash prize as well as a medallion to commemmorate this great achievement.

The Love Song of Laura Ingalls Wilder is an unusual collection of poems that combines craft, innovation, humour and down-to-earth insight in a focused and riveting read that will charm poetry buffs of every stripe.

The Acorn-Plantos Award for Peoples Poetry is awarded annually to a Canadian poet, based on a book published in the previous calendar year. The work should follow in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, Plantos and Others by being accessible to all people in its use of language and image.

Don't miss Sharon McCartney on CBC Radio's Maritime Noon show, airing Monday, December 15 between 12noon and 1:00pm AST. Visit www.cbc.ca/maritimenoon to listen live over the net between 8:00am and 9:00am PST.

Sharon McCartney is the author of two previous poetry collections, Under the Abdominal Wall (Anvil) and Karenin Sings the Blues (Goose Lane), and the chapbook Switchgrass Stills (littlefishcartpress). Her work has been published in numerous magazines and journals including PRISM international, Event, Grain, sub-TERRAIN, Prairie Fire, Iowa City and the Malahat Review. McCartney has an MFA in poetry from the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop and a law degree from the University of Victoria. She works as a legal editor in Fredericton, New Brunswick, and is poetry editor for The Fiddlehead.