Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Nightwood Editions Author Shortlisted for Kobzar Literary Award

Posted: October 8, 2009

Nightwood Editions author Elizabeth Bachinsky has just been named a finalist for the prestigious Kobzar Literary Award for her poetry collection God of Missed Connections. Presented biennially, the $25,000 Kobzar Literary Award recognizes a Canadian writer who best presents a Ukrainian Canadian theme with literary merit through poetry, play, screenplay, musical, fiction, non-fiction or young people's literature.

Written in the near absence of creative works by Ukrainian-Canadians of her generation, God of Missed Connections is a breakthrough collection by one of Canada's leading young poets. This book is profound, devastating, and draws on Ukraine's brave and bloody history as a means to explore the author's place in the contemporary world.

“I’m thrilled to be nominated for this award,” says Bachinsky, “particularly because I hope it will bring my work to a larger audience. I wrote this book for my sister so that she could know a little bit more about the place of our ancestry than she would without it, but if other readers can find that in God of Missed Connections too, I'll be very pleased indeed. Right now, I couldn’t be happier.”

Elizabeth Bachinsky is the author of Curio (Book Thug) and Home of Sudden Service (Nightwood Editions), which was nominated for the Governor General's Literary Award for poetry in 2006. Her work was also nominated for the Bronwen Wallace Award in 2004 and has appeared in literary journals, anthologies, and on film in Canada, the United States, France, Ireland, England, and China. She is an instructor of creative writing at Douglas College in New Westminster where she is Poetry Editor for Event magazine.

The other shortlisted authors for the award are Night Work: The Sawchuk Poems by Randall Maggs (Brick Books); Redemption and Ritual: The Eastern-Rite Redemptorists of North America, 1906-2006 (Redeemer's Voice Press); and Zo by Murray Andrew Pura (Windhover Marsh). The winner will be announced at a award ceremony in Toronto on March 4, 2010.