Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Harbour Publishing Congratulates its BC Book Prize Nominees

Posted: Thursday, May 1, 2010

Harbour Publishing is pleased to announce that the following books have been shortlisted for the 2010 BC Book Prizes: The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names: A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia by Andrew Scott, One More Time!: The Dal Richards Story by Dal Richards with Jim Taylor, Spirit of the Nikkei Fleet: BC’s Japanese Canadian Fisherman by Masako Fukawa with Stanley Fukawa, and The Fly in Autumn by David Zieroth.

The BC Book Prizes, established in 1985, celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers.

The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names has been shortlisted for the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize, which recognizes books that most contribute to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia, and for the BC Booksellers’ Choice Award, which recognizes the book with the most public appeal, initiative, design, production and content. Each award comes with a certificate and a $2,000 cash prize. Also nominated for the BC Booksellers’ Choice Award are, One More Time!, and Spirit of the Nikkei Fleet. The Fly in Autumn has been shortlisted for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize, which recognizes the author of the best work of poetry.

Andrew Scott is a veteran journalist who has published some 1,000 articles as well as having edited and produced several substantial magazines himself. He has written five previous books including the award-winning Painter, Paddler: The Art and Adventures of Stewart Marshall and Secret Coastline: Journeys and Discoveries Along BC’s Shores. He was also a contributing editor, subject consultant and writer for the Encyclopedia of British Columbia.

Born in 1918, Dal Richards is a legendary musician and bandleader who was an integral part of the big band era in Western Canada. Richards, or “Doctor Swing” as he is affectionately known, is the recipient of numerous honours and accolades including membership in the BC Entertainment Hall of Fame, two honorary doctorate degrees, many lifetime achievement awards, the Order of British Columbia and the Order of Canada. He was recently selected to be a Torch Bearer in the 2010 Winter Olympic Games. He hosts a weekly radio show, Dal’s Place, on AM650 radio.

Over his career, Jim Taylor has produced some 7,500 five-a-week columns, three times as many radio shows and twelve books. His writing has earned him membership in the CFL and BC Sports Halls of Fame and a lifetime achievement award from Sports Media Canada. Some of his books include Man in Motion (with Rick Hansen), Wayne Gretzky: The Authorized Pictorial Biography, The Best of Jim Coleman: Fifty Years of Canadian Sport from the Man Who Saw it All, Goin’ Deep: The Life and Times of a CFL Quarterback (with Matt Dunigan) and “Hello, Sweetheart? Gimmie Rewrite!” My Life in the Wonderful World of Sports.

Masako Fukawa has been the principal writer and managing editor of the Nikkei Fisherman titles since the formation of the Nikkei Fishermen Book Committee in 2003. She is a former school administrator and teacher specializing in the story of Japanese Canadians. Fukawa lives in Burnaby, BC.

Stanley Fukawa is the translator, interpreter and contributing writer for Spirit of the Nikkei Fleet. He is also on the editorial committee of Nikkei Images, a journal of the Japanese Canadian National Museum. He lives in Burnaby, BC.

David Zieroth’s poetry has appeared in dozens of anthologies and he has written eight other books, among them The Village of Sliding Time, Crows Do Not Have Retirement and The Education of Mr. Whippoorwill: A Country Boyhood. Zieroth won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize in 1999 for How I Joined Humanity at Last. He has also recently released a chapbook, Berlin Album. He taught at Douglas College in New Westminster, BC, for twenty-five years before retiring and founding the Alfred Gustav Press. Most recently Zieroth won the 2009 Governor General's Award for Poetry for The Fly in Autumn.

The winners of the BC Book Prize will be announced at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala on April 24th in Victoria at Government House.