Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Author Mike Hughes Named a Finalist for Book of the Year Award

Posted: Thursday, March 18, 2010

The Northwest Dive Guide: A Scuba Handbook for BC, Washington and Oregon by Mike Hughes, has been shortlisted in the Adventure/Recreation Category for ForeWord Magazine’s Book of the Year Award.

Mike Hughes has been diving for the past twenty-eight years. He is a certified PADI master instructor and writer for Northwest Dive News. Hughes has lived in Washington for over twenty years. He is currently on assignment in Las Vegas, Nevada.

ForeWord Reviews' Book of the Year Awards were established to bring increased attention to librarians and booksellers of the literary and graphic achievements of independent publishers and their authors. ForeWord is the only review trade journal devoted exclusively to books from independent houses. The unique awards process brings readers, librarians, and booksellers together to select their top categories as well as choose the winning titles. Their decisions are based on editorial excellence, professional production, originality of the narrative, author credentials relative to the book, and the value the book adds to its genre.

With training tips and gear appropriate to cold water diving, indispensable information on local dive operators and shops, and useful dry land advice such as where to go for a meal after the dive, plus nearby attractions for non-diving travelling companions The Northwest Dive Guide is sure to enhance the enjoyment and safety of recreational divers in the Northwest, whether they’ve logged hundreds of hours underwater, or they’re just getting started.

The other nominees in the Adventure/Recreation Category are Jeff Alt for A Walk for Sunshine (Dreams Shared Publications), Bill Raney & JoAnne Walker Raney for Letters to Zerky (Nickelodeon Press), Jeff Mapes for Pedaling Revolution (Oregon State University Press), Nicholas D. Hayes for Saving Sailing (Crickhollow Books) and Bill Hosford for Wilderness Canoe Tripping (Ecopress).

The winners will be determined by a panel of librarians and booksellers. Gold, Silver, and Bronze winners, as well as Editor's Choice Prizes for Fiction and Nonfiction will be announced at a special program at BookExpo America in New York City on May 25, 2010. The winners of the two Editor's Choice Prizes will be awarded $1,500 each. The ceremony is open to all BEA attendees.