Trade Customers click here
← Back Home
← Back to the News Archive

Nightwood Editions Congratulates its Pat Lowther Award Nominees

Posted: Thursday, April 1, 2010

Nightwood Editions is pleased to announce that the following books have been shortlisted for the 2010 Pat Lowther Memorial Award: God of Missed Connections by Elizabeth Bachinsky and Lousy Explorers by Laisha Rosnau.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is given for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman published in the preceding year, and is in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. The award carries a $1,000 prize.

Last year, Elizabeth Bachinsky was also nominated for the prestigious Kobzar Literary Award, a $25,000 prize that recognizes a Canadian writer who best presents a Ukrainian Canadian theme with literary merit in book form. Bachinsky is also the author of Curio (Book Thug) and Home of Sudden Service (Nightwood Editions), which was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for poetry in 2006. Her work has also been nominated for the 2004 Bronwen Wallace Award and has appeared in literary journals, anthologies, and on film in Canada, the United States, France, Ireland, England, and China. She is an instructor of creative writing at Douglas College in New Westminster where she is Poetry Editor for Event magazine.

Laisha Rosnau’s work has been published in Canada, the US, the UK and Australia, and recently anthologized in White Ink: Poems on Mothers and Motherhood and Rocksalt: An Anthology of Contemporary BC Poetry. Rosnau grew up in Vernon and has since lived all over BC. She has recently moved back to Vernon from Prince George with her young family. “In two years, I went from being a single girl living in downtown Vancouver to being a married and a new mother in Northern BC. It was quite an adjustment,” Rosnau says.

The other shortlisted authors for the Pat Lowther Memorial Award are Ronna Bloom for Permiso (Pedlar Press), Sina Queyras for Expressway (Coach House Books), Damian Rogers for Paper Radio (ECW Press, a misFit book) and Karen Solie for Pigeon (House of Anansi Press).

Winners of these awards will be announced during a special ceremony at the annual LCP Poetry Fest and Conference to be held in Toronto at 89 Chestnut Conference Centre from June 11- 13, 2010.